Search for Articles

To locate journal articles, we recommend the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub. This includes CINAHL and Medline databases for journal article searching, as well as other databases for articles and grey literature.

The Hub makes accessing the full-text of articles easier, and if we don't have access to a particular article, you can link to our request form where the item details are added automatically.

An NHS OpenAthens account is required to search using HDAS.

How to search the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

Download our guide to Searching the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub or watch the short video below.

Advanced searching for articles

For advanced searching for articles, you can also use the Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) system. Please note though that HDAS is ending on the 31st March 2022.

HDAS includes the following databases:

  • AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
  • BNI (British Nursing Index)
  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
  • EMBASE (Drugs and pharmacology, other aspects of human medicine)
  • EMCARE (Nursing and allied health)
  • HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium)
  • Medline (General medical database)
  • PsycINFO (Psychology and allied fields)

An NHS OpenAthens account is required to search using HDAS.

Alternative interfaces

For advanced searching for articles, there are a number of databases available to the NHS. An NHS OpenAthens account is required to search these databases.

EBSCO interface

  • CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
  • Medline (General medical database)

Download our guide to searching Medline and CINAHL via EBSCO.

Ovid

  • AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
  • EMBASE (Drugs and pharmacology, other aspects of human medicine)
  • EMCARE (Nursing and allied health)
  • HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium)
  • Medline (General medical database)

ProQuest

  • BNI (British Nursing Index)
  • Medline (General medical database)
  • PsycINFO (Psychology and allied fields)

Additional databases

More databases are available, and you can find out more by visiting the Journal Article section of the Knowledge Navigator. The Knowledge Navigator also includes advice on locating specific types of evidence, such as systematic reviews, RCTs and qualitative research.

Still struggling to find articles? You could Request an Evidence Search.

Searching Effectively

To help you locate the information you need quickly and effectively, it is important that you plan your search and use the search tools provided by each database. We can provide help and training on all of the available databases.